Stuffed Pattypan Squash

One Saturday, I FINALLY was able to wake up early enough to get down to the farmer’s market (before it closes at the early hour of one p.m.). Thrilled about this rare occurrence, I wandered between the various booths, trying to find something fun and unusual to me to make. On a budget, I ended up picking up pattypan squash and okra. After I got home from the market, I realized that I didn’t have the faintest idea what to make with these particular vegetables.

I breaded the okra, coating with egg and dipping in Italian-style breadcrumbs, and cooked it in the oven. I was happy to find that it was nice and flavorful, as I don’t trust my skills of throwing something together without a recipe.

A couple of days later, I turned to the pattypan squash, deciding that my best option was to cruise the web for something different to make out of the ingredient. The resulting recipe was stuffed pattypan squash. 

Photo courtesy of allrecipes.com

Stuffed pattypan squash may look complicated, but was actually extremely easy to prepare. Here’s the recipe… 

Ingredients

  • Pattypan squash (medium to large)
  • Bacon (turkey bacon for a healthier option)
  • Diced onion
  • Soft bread crumbs (I used Italian-style)
  • Grated Parmesan cheese
  • Salt and pepper to taste

Directions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Bring 1 inch of water to boil in a saucepan over medium-high heat. Add in the squash, and cook until a fork can pierce the stem. Drain. Slice the top stem off the squash, and scoop out the inner center of the squash. Cook bacon over medium-high heat until it is brown all over (I chose to omit the bacon, but to each his own). Saute the onion in bacon drippings, or olive oil. Cut up the squash pieces and saute them with the onion for one minute. Take the skillet off heat, and add breadcrumbs. Crumble the bacon, and stir bacon and parmesan cheese into the stuffing. Add salt and pepper as desired. Stuff the squash with the mixture, and place in a baking dish. Cover the dish loosely with aluminum foil and bake for fifteen minutes, or until they are heated through.

The squash turned out very well, and faintly reminiscent of Thanksgiving. Pattypan squash is a great seasonal vegetable, tasty and healthy.

-Lisa

*Recipe and photo courtesy of allrecipes.com.

 

Leave a Reply

